Warning: Declaration of Suffusion_MM_Walker::start_el(&$output, $item, $depth, $args) should be compatible with Walker_Nav_Menu::start_el(&$output, $item, $depth = 0, $args = Array, $id = 0) in /home/bkutle5/public_html/dev/wp-content/themes/suffusion/library/suffusion-walkers.php on line 39

Sportsmanship Award


In 2010, the Harvard-Westlake Boys Tennis Team named their annual sportsmanship award in honor of Brendan Kutler. Brendan was a team member for several seasons, and was himself the recipient of the sportsmanship trophy in 2008 and 2009.

Regarding the naming of the award, Chris Simpson, head of the Harvard-Westlake Boys Tennis program, stated: “The Harvard-Westlake Boys Tennis Sportsmanship Award acknowledges and represents our late tennis player, Brendan Kutler, as a whole. He was a true competitor on the court, but more importantly, a true gentlemen off the court. He always showed the utmost respect and loyalty to his teammates, the coaching staff and even his opponents. Although he was not present physically in our 2010 season, the team felt his presence during our many battles, and I believe this contributed to the success of the team.”

Award Winners

Justin Lee (2022)

Justin Lee (2022)

Phillip Otero (left) Eli Nickoll (right) (2021)

Phillip Otero (left) and Eli Nickoll (right) (2021)



Kenny Lee (left) Will Janos (center) (2019)

Kenny Lee (left) and Will Janos (center) (2019)

Strauss Cooperstein (2018)

Strauss Cooperstein (2018)

Jed Kronenberg (2017)

Jed Kronenberg (2017)

George Noonan (2016)

Jaird Meyer

Jaird Meyer (2015)

Simon Gunter

Simon Gunter (2014)

Henry Noonan

Henry Noonan (2013)

Jameson West

Jameson West (2012)

Adam Williams

Adam Williams (2011)

Andrew Berman

Andrew Berman (2010)